Rock’n Roadies

Okay, you’ve got me — I promised a lemon curd recipe and this isn’t it.  Please don’t lose faith completely, the tweaks are just taking longer than expected.

And I accidentally made some cookies that seem to be a huge hit and had to share.  Your missing out on these yummies would be an epic fail on my part!

DSC07807
up close and personal with some packed-and-ready-to-share cookies,
which were delivered to the gals who run the beloved bright blue,
wood-paneled Ebbett’s Good to Go truck that you too should stalk

While I was never a marshmallow eating Peeps-seeker, Sweet & Sara marshmallows made me a lover of the fluffy white chewie gooeys un-adulterated and beautifully plain.  They have certainly made a fan for life out of me but that did not make me any less curious in Dandies when they first came out.

Made by the magical folks of the Chicago Soy Dairy, birthplace of Teese, Dandies are of the “puffed” school of marshmallows.   My first bag was made into classic krispie treats.  This is something I will definitely be revisiting, considering I purposely did a crap job of scraping the sticky mass into the pan so I could eat the warm cling-ons with a spoon.  When I started thinking about a cookie I’d had long ago, a dark chocolate one with bright white marshmallow inside, I knew what had to happen.

Some cocoa powder, chocolate chips, chopped almonds and some time later, I had what I’m callin’ Rock’n Roadies — a slight twist on the traditional rocky road, but turned up to 11 all the same.  A plate of these sans marshmallows disappeared Sunday at a get-together.  The marshmallowy ones I saved for myself Sunday.  Greedy, maybe, but I deserve it.  Or maybe I just don’t want to share my Dandies.

Last night I took the last of my open bag of Dandies and made some more to share.  My recommendation is that you buy two bags of Dandies and make these twice, ’cause if you’re anything like me, sharing the first batch will be very, very hard.

Rock’n Roadies
makes at least 3 dozen tablespoon-scooped cookies

1 1/4 c evaporated cane sugar
1/2 c non-dairy butter (such as Earth Balance)
1/2 c non-dairy milk (I used Silk Soy)
3/4 c cocoa powder, sifted for lumps
2 T cornstarch
2 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt (increase to 1/2 tsp if you sub 1/3 c veggie oil for the buttah)
~1/2 bag of Dandies marshmallows, cut in halves
1/2 c chopped almonds or walnuts (pictured here with walnuts – do whatever you prefer!)
1/2-1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips (depending on how chocolatey you want these to be)

Turn your oven on to 350 and prep two sheet pans with parchment or Silpats.  Cream together sugar and buttah; blend in cornstarch.  Scrape down the sides before adding salt and cocoa powder; incorporate half the milk, then half the dry ingredients.  Incorporate the remaining milk and dry ingredients, as well as the chocolate chips and nuts.

DSC07778The complicated part!  Using a cookie scoop or your favorite tablespoon, fill your spoon/scoop less than a third full.  Push your marshmallow half into the middle of it before “completing” the scoop so the marshmallow is concealed inside the dough.  Drop onto your prepared cookie sheet with at least an inch in-between (assuming you’re doing tablespoon sized cookies) as these will spread some when baking.  Bake for 8 minutes then allow to cool for five minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely or putting them in your face.  They will be fragile, so be careful!  This is a great time to use your favorite old skinny metal spatula instead of a fatter plastic spatula, which has a harder time getting under the cookie and thus may break it.

Alternative method for brownie-like cookies: place one scoop in the bottom of a muffin paper, add a full uncut Dandies marshmallow, then cover with another scoop.  Bake for about 10-11 minutes before pulling from the oven and allowing to cool on the sheet/in the pan.  Consume.  Rejoice.

2 thoughts on “Rock’n Roadies

  1. kimmi says:

    nice website! it was a pleasure to meet you from the food truck today- this is kimmi! your cookies were delicious! let me know if you’re ever looking to get into any cafes, and please let me know if i can write about you in my own food blog (under construction) :).

Leave a Reply

