Bob’s Red Mill – and a giveaway!

::sigh::  Fine, I confess.

My name is Christina and I’m a Bob’s Red Mill whore.

No, no, it’s not what you think!  I just…  I just go crazy for their stuff.  I mean his stuff.  No their stuff!

Whoever’s stuff, it’s damn good.  We are homebodies who like to cook and eat at home daily.  We can tell whether or not the cornmeal that claimed it was for polenta is as high quality as the packaging says, if a product is truly “now more flavorful” or just saltier.  Fine, we’re a little picky!  Can you blame anyone?  C’mon, there’s at least one thing that you so strongly feel is superior to all others, that you are willing to take a stand for it.  (And of course, please feel free to share!)

At any rate, we use lots of pantry friendly goods, such as: dried beans and peas, soup mixes (the man of the house loves these,) cornmeal ground for polenta, quinoa, soy protein powder…  I use egg replacer on a fairly regular basis and will admit that I buy vital wheat gluten but have yet to master it.  Seriously, I love me some wheat meat but can’t seem to make it the way I like just yet.  I’ll keep at it and do welcome tips.  (One of my lovely Flaco’s Anon members and Pepple’s donut farm-turner-on-er Jami has requested I make VeganDad’s buffalo wings.  I really, really want to make that happen.)

Going vegan forced me out of my old routines, causing me to explore new types of cuisine, new textures and techniques and now that I have begun to explore, I wonder why in the world I waited so long.  Going vegan gave a whole new life to what I thought was an already strong love for food.

But enough rambling, right?

The point is that I have some to share besides my ever-growing love for what vegan life has brought me.

Not one, not two, but three randomly chosen comments from anyone anywhere willing to provide me a legitimate name and address will win an assortment assembled of these options:

vitalwheatgluteneggreplacersoyprotein

Here’s what you have to do.

Leave a comment here (please be sure to include your e-mail in the given field, or how will I be able to contact you?) telling me what you might explore with some Bob’s Red Mill in your pantry.  That’s it!  Have you wanted to replicate Jamba Juice at home?  Can’t deal with the flaxseed “egg” flecks?  Or maybe you too have a hankering for some wheat meat, buffalo style?

[EDIT: Comments so far are spot on, but to clarify, you don’t have to already know how to use them.  I’m interested in what endeavors you might embark on should any of these fall into your happy hands. 🙂  VeganTnT on twitter, I’m looking at you!]

The comments will remain open from now through Thursday November 18th, with the winners announced on Friday November 19th.

Till then…

EDIT: THE GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED!  WINNERS TO BE ANNOUNCED SHORTLY.  Thanks to all who participated!

veganmofo_2

29 thoughts on “Bob’s Red Mill – and a giveaway!

  1. Callie says:

    I would loooooooooooove to try buffalo wings. I am salivating just thinking about it! Also want to make a southwestern style veggie burger homemade, instead of the Gardenburger ones. Yum!

  2. Winnie says:

    I didn’t even know Bobs Red mill made egg replacer! I usually do the flax eggs or bananas, but would love to try something different. I tried Ener-G before and didn’t really like it.

  3. Vegannifer says:

    If I had some Bob’s Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten I would use it to make these chili muffins I tried the other day. It seems as though the VWG was imperative to the success of the recipe, but I ran out and just subbed with regular ole’ flour. I need a second chance, please!

  4. Christina says:

    They make egg replacer? I’d like to try that in some artichoke fritters I just heard about. Maybe try tempura with it.

    I love making wheat gluten and buy it often, but this would help me with my Thanksgiving food budget!

  5. Josiane says:

    I’m not quite sure what I’d do with soy protein powder, but it’d be fun to find out! I’d have no trouble figuring out what to do with the gluten and the egg replacer, though: I love making seitan (oh, and I’ll need some gluten for the seitan pot pies I want to make for the holidays) and I love baking (and though I like using flax eggs, there are uses for all kinds of eggs substitute). 🙂

  6. Trent Taylor says:

    Well since I was called out publicly (blogily?) I have to figure something out 😉

    That soy protein is going directly into my fruit smoothies because that’s what men do. We put protein powder in drinks and bulk up for the ladies.

    The egg replacer will be used in my pursuit of making a decent vegan brownie. For some reason I’m only capable of making dense cake or fudge

    Vital Wheat Gluten? yeah… I don’t know about that… I know you can add it to breads but I’d probably try to make seitan with it. For a big city Orlando only has one restaurant that sells a dish with it and I’ve never seen it in stores ready made. It would be a new and terrifying experience.

    • tasteslikeyum says:

      Couldn’t help myself — and I’ll admit that I put the soy protein directly in my fruit smoothies so I can bulk up for… Feats of Strength competitions at work? (We really do have lunchtime competitions.) I have had many a failed experiment myself but they’ve all taught me a lot, so I’m glad you took the time. Thanks!

  7. Mary says:

    Ooooh Bob’s Red Mill! Bob makes some fine products, yes he does!

    I have been wanting to try making my own seitan. It’s a little daunting, but if I had some of Bob’s Vital Wheat Gluten and an afternoon off, I could muster up the courage!

    Or the egg replacer would be lovely too – I usually use flax or banana but sometimes the results are dense – great for muffins and breads; not ideal for cupcakes. I haven’t tried making a True Cupcake since going vegan!

    I don’t use soy protein, so that one wouldn’t help me at all. I’m allergic!

    Thanks for the opportunity to win some lovely ingredients!

  8. Valerie Reanne says:

    with the wheat gluten i would try to perfect a homemade morning sausage patty! the soy protein could go in chocolate peanut butter smoothies to make them seem healthy and to give dessert a semi-legit purpose! and the egg replacer would come in handy for a cheesecake recipe i have been wanting to try and the leftover for some chocolate chip cookies!!

  9. phoenix says:

    Cool, I can’t get those where I live, and I love trying out new stuff. I’d have to google around a bit for the protein powder, since I wouldn’t know what to do with it (at first), but I know that I’d try sooo many new seitan and sausage variations with the wheat gluten, and the egg replacer would be very nice for my ongoing quest for the vegan maccaroon!

  10. Jojo says:

    I’ve never tried anything by Bob’s Red Mill but if I won I’d try to make the seitan en croute from 500 Vegan Recipes with the wheat gluten, I saw it on someone’s blog the other day & it looked amazing. As for the egg replacer, I’m not sure but I’d probably use the soy protein powder to (attempt to) make some marshmallows.

  11. Kim says:

    I have to admit that I have still never tried making seitan, so I would love to experiment with the vital wheat gluten. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  12. cadryskitchen says:

    With vital wheat gluten I’d make some seitan from Viva Vegan. Then I could make a little check off of my to-do list! 🙂

  13. Caeli says:

    Oh man, i’ve been unable thus far to locate anywhere that sells vital wheat gluten near me, so i’d love to get that and get making some seitan at last! Soy protein powder…i’ve never had any of this before either! Sounds like something to throw in the smoothie mix! And egg replacer, well that tends to work well in cookies…it’s mine and my boyfriend’s anniversary soon so I’d like to make him some cute little heart cookies 🙂

  14. Momo says:

    I am also a huge Bob’s fan! It seems to be the only brand widely carried in a number of grocery stores here. I buy whatver I can get my hands on, mostly the cornmeal, spelt flour and gluten free flour. I have never seen the egg replacer before, it would be nice to try instead of EnerG. My favorite thing to do is veganize the recipes that come on the back of the packages. So far I have done the cornbread, sweet & savory versions and brownies. Thanks for posting Christina, take care ❤

  15. Seglare says:

    I would love to try the egg replacer. Most of the time, I use flax eggs or banana; but I prefer egg replacer for more “delicate” recipes, and specially cookies. So I’ll say – I’d use it to veganize some new cookie recipes. 🙂

  16. Julia Moran Martz says:

    With the egg replacer, I totally want to try a vegan pecan pie. With the wheat gluten, make my own bacon! And with the soy protein, learn more about it first. I really don’t know much about soy protein.

  17. Meredith says:

    I’ve never used egg replacer, so I’m curious to see how this differs from using the “flax egg” method. I would also love the vital wheat gluten to make some seitan or chickpea cutlets or beanballs, I’ve never made homemade seitan!

Leave a Reply

