cocoWHAT?

Believe it or not, in an office full of Ritter Sport-lovin’ women (and gents, all… four of them!) not everyone likes chocolate.

I know. WHA??? It’s true. Some gals prefer lemon, or vanilla… or maybe, just maybe, coconut. I am not huge into it myself but I seemed to have a surplus the other night and this is what happened:
cocoWHAT? cake.  ha.
I call it cocoWHAT cake. Why? Well, why not? But really, because it has more coconut than I thought I’d manage to cram into one cake, it was soft, delicious, different with a gentle crumb and even the gals in the office who said that they didn’t even really like coconut were clamoring for it.

sticky mounds-like fillingWith sweet and sticky “conglomerate candy bar with or without almonds” style filling, how could you say no? And there’s no added corn syrup in there!  It’s all totally homemade using brown rice syrup and magic kitten fairy dust… okay, and maybe some brown sugar and vanilla.  But mostly kitten fairy dust.

Normally when I make something, I’ll send out an email that says “headed for the kitchen” in the subject, then in the body, it’ll note what it is I’m bringing over.  However, I had to finish piping this one at work (yes when I wake up at 4am and can’t sleep, I get up and bake cakes that will still be too warm to frost by the time I leave) so folks bombarded me before I could get the word out!

What does that mean?  Sad folks who missed out.  So now, something I don’t do often: here’s the recipe!   I made it up, based off of the vanilla cupcake recipe from the cupcake bible.  Head’s up: I utilize “coconut powder,” or ground dessicated coconut, according to the package ingredients.  I don’t know how common it is, but I find it easily at my local FoodMax or Grossout, I mean, Grocery Outlet.

So here it is, (see Amy, I said I’d do it!)  what I recall to be my made-up recipe for that coconut cake you may or may not have had a chance to try.  Enjoy!

COCOWHAT CAKE
coconut milk cake, sticky coconut filling, vanilla-coconut buttahcream
and toasted coconut topping
makes 1 8-9″ round layer cake or 24 cupcakes

Cake:
1 can lite coconut milk
+ enough OJ and soy milk (split 50/50) to make 2 c total liquid
2/3 c vegetable or canola oil
1 T pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 c turbinado sugar
2 c all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 c cornstarch
generous 3/4 c ground coconut

Filling:
~1 c shredded sweetened coconut (I didn’t measure; I just used what I had left in the bag!)
~1 T brown rice syrup
~1 T brown sugar

Frosting:
1/2 c non-dairy buttah OR
1/4 c non-dairy buttah and 1/4 c vegetable shortening
1 T pure vanilla extract
1/2 c ground coconut
~3 c powdered sugar
~1/4 c non-dairy milk (coconut milk would be nice too!)
*for frostings, I never measure powdered sugar or liquid; I keep adding till I have enough and am happy with the consistency

Topping:
~1c ground coconut, toasted (again, I just used what I had left)

Basic instructions:

1 can lite coconut milk + enough OJ and soy milk (split 50/50) to make 2 c total liquid + 1/4 c cornstarch to dissolve; set aside

2/3 c vegetable or canola oil + 1 T pure vanilla extract + 1 1/2 c turbinado sugar in your main mixing bowl

sift together 2 c all-purpose flour + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1 tsp baking soda

Add the liquid to the sugar mix; blend thoroughly.

Add the dry mix in two to three batches as well as the generous 3/4 c ground coconut.  Scrape the sides and the bottom!

Pour evenly into two prepared, greased, lined pans OR 24 cupcake papers

Bake at 350 – about 40 minutes for the cake or till a toothpick comes out clean, or 18-22 minutes for cupcakes.

Let cool before filling and frosting.  Eat.  Be happy.

veganmofo_2

5 thoughts on “cocoWHAT?

Leave a Reply

