Iron Cupcake Earth 9: Soda Pop

“Whajamaican?”

I started to laugh.  Really, I may have even snorted but if I did, we’ll omit that to save what little posterity I have left.

“I have no idea.”

Yes, it’s true: as much as I love to bake, as much as I draw inspiration from all over, there come times when you just have to stand back and giggle a little because you’re making something but the end result is still a mystery to all, including the maker.  It reminded me a lot of those cooking competition shows where the clock is ticking, the chefs are working, but not everyone knows what is about to appear on their own plates.

Lucky for me, his comment somehow got me singing.  I worked my way through some Bob Marley, some random bits of things I’d been singing at work, and somehow started singing those playground songs, the ones where you find a partner for the hand-clapping bit and everyone knows the words.

“Shimmy shimmy cocopop, shimmy shimmy wow
Shimmy shimmy cocopop, shimmy shimmy wow
I had a girl named a-Triscuit, she said a-Triscuit? A biscuit!..”

Then I probably snorted again: I’d figured out what I was making.
sunny piñacocopop cupcake (vegan)
Meet my newest bubbly babe: Sunny Piñacocopop Cupcakes.

And yes, the name makes me want to sing as I hand them out: “Sunny Piñacocopop, eat my cuppies now! Sunny Piñacocopop, c’mon boogie down.”  This, my friends, is why sleep is important.

Weighing in with 63% real pineapple juice and 37% fizzy water, the Costa Rican Pineapple Fizzy Lizzy’s Soda I used was no joke!  While I have not really drunk soda since my RedBull-fueled college days (where soda was sometimes more readily available than water) I have since had a hard time finding soda – when craving it – that isn’t full of ingredients that sound like my Chem Honors high school teacher lecturing.

What happened to the first round of photos is a whole other story, so please know there are better ones – but I had to get some done ASAP to post in time.  Coming back from a Hawaiian vacation to work and cupcake deadlines in the middle of a heatwave makes for a bit of a crunch, but I pulled it off somehow!

The end result: Sunshine in a wrapper!
sunny piñacocopop cupcake (vegan) - inside
A naturally sweet pineapple cake hides a golden surprise inside of coc-oat-nut sprinkle over a spoonful of sweet and tangy crushed pineapple. Topped with a smidge of pineapple icing and the satisfying crunch of unsweetened whole flake coconut.

Great for piña colada lovers, sun seekers, and anyone who does not object to warm sand between their toes and a cool cupcake in their palm.

– – – – – – – – – – –

The April ETSY PRIZE-PACK is from artists:

Last and certainly not least, don’t forget our corporate prize providers:
Head Chefs by Fiesta Products
Hello, Cupcake by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson
Jessie Steel Aprons
Taste of Home Books
a t-shirt from Up With Cupcakes

And of course, IronCupcake:Earth is sponsored in part by 1-800-Flowers

 

Sunny Piñacocopop Cupcakes
makes 12 cupcakes with filling and 3 to sacrifice to the tasting gods
(or in my case, one 3/4″ tall 6″ round cake for nom nom noming)

Filling:
1 large Oatibix, broken up
4 tsp brown sugar
3 T sweetened shredded coconut
8 oz can crushed pineapple, well-drained

Cake:
3/4 c juice-based pineapple soda
1/4 c plain soy yogurt
1/2 c vegetable or canola oil
3/4 c evaporated cane sugar
1 1/3 c all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Icing:
1 1/3 c powdered sugar
2-3 T juice-based pineapple soda
unsweetened flake coconut to top, ~1 1/2c

To prepare the filling: mix all ingredients except for crushed pineapple in a small bowl, set aside.

To prepare cake:
Heat oven to 350 and line a 12-cup muffin pan with papers.  In a small bowl, blend dry ingredients, sifting if necessary.  In a mixing bowl, stir together pineapple soda, soy yogurt, sugar and oil till thoroughly blended.  Add the dry mix in 2-3 (not 203 like I originally typed, oops!) batches, mixing only till just together; do not over mix, a few little lumps are okay.

Place ~2T of batter in each muffin cup.  Add 1 packed tsp of crushed pineapple in the center and top the whole thing with 1T of filling mix.  Top each cupcake with an additional T or so of batter to cover.  Try to cover the coc-oat-nut mix best you can, some peeking is okay.  Bake 25-30 minutes or till golden on top and toothpick comes out clean when inserted near the sides (through the middle and you’ll punch through the pineapple.)

Allow to cool in pan 10 minutes before moving to rack to cool completely.

For icing:
Mix together 1 1/3c powdered sugar with 2T pineapple soda, adding more if needed, till a thick, runny paste consistency is reached.  Top each cupcake with 1tsp and spread, then dip into bowl of coconut.  Add a splash more soda to the remaining icing and drizzle over the top of the coconut if desired.

One thought on “Iron Cupcake Earth 9: Soda Pop

Leave a Reply

