recipe fer buns

There I was the other day, typing away like some sort of keyboard demon, when Kelley, one of my co-workers, rolled up to my desk on her Razor scooter. She tells me she saw the lemon brekky buns post, she was very excited–but where was the recipe?

…still in my brain, ’cause like a dingbat, I didn’t post it. D’oh! Better late than never, right? And I hope that the mini lemon scones and mini pumpkin streusel muffins made up for the delay.

Now, when you’re making breakfast buns of any type–sticky buns, cinnamon rolls, Belinder Buns or Lemon Brekky Buns, you have to be prepared to make yeast dough. Thanks to my KitchenAid Stand mixer, my scrawny toothpick arms never really had to do any of the real kneading work. I now use my bread machine, or I guess you could call it my dough maker, for all doughs (things baked outside of the machine just taste better!) If you don’t have a bread machine with a dough/manual cycle or a stand mixer with a dough hook, you can certainly do it up old skool via floured hands and buff arms. While you’ll get mad props from me, I can’t be of much service in the how-to process aside from saying make the filling FIRST and let it chill out while you’re waiting; if it gets icy, no worries. At any rate, recipe is as follows:

Lemon Brekky Buns
makes 1 dozen
the buns
1 1 /2 egg replacing powder + enough 80 degree water to make 1 c 2 T
1/4 c oil
1/3 c sugar
1 tsp salt
3 1/2 c bread flour (brought to room temp if you store it in the fridge)
1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast (also brought to room temp)

the filling
1/2 c butter, softened
juice and zest from 1 Meyer lemon
1/3 c sugar
1/4 c brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla powder
2 T arrowroot powder

Thoroughly blend together the filling ingredients till thick and smooth. Stash in the fridge, allowing it to firm to a thick paste, pulling out of the icebox only right when you’re ready to fill and cut.

once the dough is prepared
Prepare your 13 x 9″ baking dish by lightly greasing it; I use a light spray of oil. Roll the prepared dough into a 12 x 16″ rectangle. Spread with butter mixture. Working as fast as possible, roll into a tight-as-you-can-get-it roll and slice into 12 pieces. Arrange in baking dish and cover; place in a happy home to rise for one hour or till doubled in size. I close my dough into the oven with a pan of boiling water underneath, do as you like.

Remove from oven. Heat to 350; bake for 28-35 minutes, depending on your oven, or till golden and done. Remove and allow to stand at least 15 minutes before attempting to do anything, but I’d really recommend trying to wait until the pan is cool enough to not hurt you.

DSC01380

Top ’em with a lemony icing if you like.

DSC01383

Leave a Reply

