fridays taste good

apple doodles. oh yes.
apple doodles

This recipe came about because it was my cousin’s birthday. My cousin Michael was born (I believe) nineteen years before I was on August 23. This year, he was in California for his birthday and had a small bbq my boyfriend Colin and I attended. Of course, I felt the need to bring something, so I opened my cookbooks and started looking for a recipe to adapt. The first batch was cookie bars, came out sticky and yummy. The second round, done as drop cookies, came out money if I do say so myself and I haven’t adjusted the recipe since.  Here’s a couple of pics from a batch I made on Wednesday. I call them Apple Doodles–like snickerdoodles and apple pie all at once. Yum!
apple doodles

apple doodles

I made these as cookie bars yesterday for work, and after some rave reviews, I had to share. Hope you enjoy as much as they did; maybe I’ll post their commentary later 🙂

Apple Doodles
makes approx 2 doz drop cookies

(Recipe notes: if you plan on making cookie bars, a single recipe will make one 8×8 or 9×9 square pan; a double recipe is needed if you would like to make a 13×9 pan. Baking times will be longer-about 12-19 minutes for a single recipe, about 25-30 for a 13×9; your nose will tell you, as it depends on the oven.

1/2 c margarine, softened
1/2 c granulated sugar
1/4 c brown sugar
1 c + 2T all-purpose flour
1/4 c rolled oats, heaping
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 med Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored and chopped
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacer
2 T warm water

Heat your oven to 375. Sift together all dry ingredients, save egg replacer and rolled oats. In a bowl, cream together margarine and sugars. Add vanilla, egg replacer, and water; mix till light and fluffy. Stir in apples and rolled oats till evenly distributed. Spoon onto cookie sheets and bake for 9-12 minutes or till golden. Allow to cool on the pan for five minutes before transferring to cooling rack; cookies will be cakey and fragile!

Best eaten the same day; may keep overnight in the fridge, just pop it in the toaster oven or microwave for a few minutes to re-warm and eat. Cookie bars are also good a la mode with the frozen vanilla dessert of your choice. Enjoy!

[(c) CAI 2007]

Leave a Reply

